Rutgers Recreation

The following blog post was written by Rutgers student William M., who was worked in the Recreation Department at Rutgers for some time now. Here’s what he has to say about what being apart of rec has done for his leadership:

Rutgers Recreation has given me the tools and foundation to become an effective leader. Rec has been the gateway for me to not only succeed at my home institution, but has also opened up new pathways towards gaining new skills, meeting new people, and allowing me to be creative in my leadership style. The most important part about Rec was that my direct supervisors had enough trust in me to take on certain projects on my own accord; having free reign allowed me to be successful while also giving me the chance to make mistakes and learn from them. I owe the department more than a fair share of thank yous.

Here’s a piece I was able to work on with a fellow NIRSA colleague of mine (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dv6jTyAiPGQ) for our regional conference. Ryan’s short comments ultimately equate to what I gained from Rec and from NIRSA.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

