Being a Leader Through Action

Anthony Gibbons of the Student Life Marketing Team (SLMT) writes this blog post about what he thinks of leadership.

“Before you are a leader, success is all about growing yourself. When you become a leader, success is all about growing others” – Jack Welch

In retrospect, when I first joined the Student Life Marketing Team (SLMT) about two years ago, I knew little to nothing about graphic design.  Initially, I did not consider all the experience I would gain as a result of working in this office.  Similar to the mindset of most college students, I just saw it as another job opportunity.  However, as the months passed and I acquired more knowledge and experience, I could see how my skills were developing.  As time progressed, my confidence and creativity increased and I was able to establish a level credibility in the office.  As new students entered the office, I was sought out for my opinions regarding what others were producing.  This is when I realized that I was in a leadership position.

What does leadership mean to me?

Lead by example.

I made sure that I followed proper office protocol.  I made a point to keep my work station clean and that I clocked in and out at the appropriate times.  I made sure that everything which was expected for that day was completed because I could not expect something from someone I wouldn’t do myself.

Serve others and get your hands dirty.

In addition to the daily project load, occasionally, we were required to handle minor office maintenance.  I would always volunteer to help out the office wherever needed. Position does not define a leader but their passion.  I realize that restocking printers and throwing out the trash does not make me less of a leader.

Willingness to learn.

As my skills developed in the office, my confidence also increased.  However, I can assure you that it never transformed into cockiness or arrogance.  When it came time for peer feedback, I looked forward to the constructive criticism and frequently asked what I needed to do to improve my work.   I know now that no matter how many degrees or job titles I obtain, I will always strive to stay a student; someone who is always finding opportunities to learn.

Overall, I believe that everyone has the potential to become a leader.  All it requires is hard work, focus and diligence.  Being an effective leader does not necessarily mean that you produce the best work but that you work to inspire others.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

